Always a Free Case Evaluation
(608) 204-5807 - firstname.lastname@example.org
Wisconsin OWI Defense
Wisconsin Drunk Driving Defense
Being charged with an OWI in Wisconsin can have serious consequences that affect your family, your career, your driving privileges, as well as having a financial burden. A second or subsequent conviction is a criminal conviction that will result in jail time as well as a mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) being installed on every vehicle that is registered in your name. It is imperative that you contact a Wisconsin criminal defense attorney like David Anderson Law Office, SC immediately to assist you in fighting these charges.
In Wisconsin, when you are charged with an OWI, you will be charged with two different offenses. First, you will be issued a citation or charged with operating a motor vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant (OWI). Second, you will be issued a citation or charged with operating a motor vehicle with a prohibited alcohol concentration (PAC) if the level of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is greater than .08. A PAC charge does not depend on the level of your impairment like an OWI. Your ability to operate your vehicle does not make a difference. Although you will initially receive both charges, you will only face penalties for, or be sentenced, on one of these charges.
Furthermore, you can be charged with operating a motor vehicle with any detectable amount of a restricted controlled in your blood, such as THC. It will not matter if you were currently under the influence of THC at the time of your arrest if blood test results indicate any amount of THC. It is especially important when faced with a charge of operating with a restricted controlled substance that you contact David Anderson Law Office, SC to analyze your case and determine whether or not the officer that pulled you over had a legitimate reason (reasonable suspicion or probable cause) to stop you.
Let David Anderson Law Office Be Your Advocate
Impact on a Wisconsin Driver’s License with an OWI Conviction
When charged with an OWI offense, you face a suspension and/or revocation of your driver’s license. For an OWI offense your license will be revoked upon conviction. However, your license may be suspended administratively prior to a conviction for six months.
Your license will be suspended 30 days after receiving a Notice of Intent to Suspend if you do not request an administrative review hearing. It will also be suspended if you lose the administrative hearing. If you are convicted of an OWI offense your license will be revoked. For a first offense OWI your license will be revoked for a minimum of 6 months. Your license can be revoked for up to 36 months for a third offense and above. In addition to a revoked license, you will be required to install an IID upon licensure with a BAC of .15 or more, second offense and above, and any refusal charges. Unfortunately you will not be able to “wait out” the IID.